Little Man’s Eighth Week of Life: 6/19-6/26

There wasn’t too much red-letter stuff this week.  Mostly, we hung out at home and ran some errands.  Spending this quality time together this summer has been such a blessing!  I’m trying hard to really relish in it because I know it won’t be like this forever (especially when we hopefully have more kids).  

On Saturday, Teacher Man decided that he was going to take Little Man on a run in the jogging stroller.  Little Man was having none of it.  First of all, we put a hat on him (which he kind of hates?) and then he was forced to sit upright in the stroller (something he’s never done before).  They made it a little ways, but not too far.  Still, point for trying.  

On the 25th, Teacher Man and I had our anniversary (two years!).  We went out for dinner and it was the first time we went anywhere and left Little Man with someone other than either one of us.  Teacher Man’s mom and sister came over to watch Little Man.  I knew he was going to be fine (there very capable people), but I also went through a few panicky moments while I was getting ready.  I managed to get through the explanation of where everything is and got in the car without any problems.  Good for me!  

This is more Momma-news than baby-news,  but I had my first alcoholic beverage when we were at dinner.  And let me tell you what, I FELT that!  I could instantly feel the alcohol in my legs (does that happen to anyone else?  does that make sense?).  I don’r ever remember being that much of a lightweight!  Still, it was pretty fun to be able to drink a little bit again.  

I was totally completely emotionally fine until the middle of dinner when Teacher Man decided that he would turn to me and ask, “So, are you okay being without Little Man?”  I immediately got all teary and Teacher Man went into panic mode: “I’m sorry!  Are you okay?”  It was a rough moment.  It’s so weird to be without Little Man.  

It’s especially weird at times because he INSISTS on napping while being held.  We’ve been trying to get him to sleep in different places so he doesn’t get totally dependent on one environment, but it is not going well so far.  And I can’t, I just can’t let him cry it out.  I don’t mind him fussing and I don’t mind him crying for a couple of minutes and making him wait a beat to pick him up, but crying it out is just so not an option for my poor little heart.  So, consequently, we spend a lot of time snuggled on the couch which is GREAT for snuggling and bonding, and smelling his sweet smell, but it is not good for dusting and all of the other things that need to happen.  “Just let the housework go,” people say.  “Spend time with your baby!”  There are two problems with this mindset: 1) there comes a point where you have to clean, you just have to.  For your own sanity.  For the health of your family.  Whatever.  2) I feel good when I do housework.  I’m one of those crazy people who gets satisfaction from doing housework and having a clean home.  I do what I can when I can, but it’s not where I want it to be.  

So, as always, we’re working on it.  

Leave a Reply

