Six-month update

It’s hard to believe that Little Man is six-months old.  It’s even harder to believe that I’ve managed to keep him alive all this time.  While I have enjoyed every step of Little Man’s life, I have to say that this is one of my favorite ages so far.  He’s doing so much now and he has a personality that is so very much his own.  

Little Man is eating some rice now!  He LOVES eating with his spoon in his high chair.  Often, he tries to help feed himself when we’re getting the spoon in his mouth, but he really only manages to get the rice all over his hand and nowhere near his mouth when he does that.  We’ve been trying to feed him at dinner so that he’s eating when we’re eating.  He’ll still nurse a little after eating (there’s so little of the rice right now that he’s still getting a lot of his nutrients from me).  It’s been interesting to see him grow this way and I’m starting to see how parenting is just one long letting go.  While I’m excited for him to be able to eat real foods, it’s also a sign that he won’t be “needing” me as much anymore.  Obviously, he still needs someone to prepare his food for him, but anyone can do that.  Up until now, I was the only one that could provide nourishment for him.  I know that there will be many more times for me to “let go”, but it’s sweetened by him getting to experience new things.  

I get kisses often from Little Man where he sucks on my face with a wide-open mouth.  Teacher Man and I went out last night and missed Little Man’s bedtime, so when I picked Little Man out of his crib this morning, he gave me a BIG kiss.  It was super sweet, even though it was 5am.  

Did I mention that the changing from Daylight Savings Time has completely thrown Little Man for a loop?  His schedule is off and he’s waking up earlier than usual.  I’m hoping he sorts himself out soon!  I love spending time with him, but I also like feeling rested when I go to work!  

Little Man is pretty confident in sitting on his own now.  He can’t get to a sitting position or move from that position to another one on his own, but he’s very sturdy when he sits.  He likes to bend and reach for toys that are near him and he chews on EVERYTHING!  

Lately, he and Teacher Man have been playing a game where Little Man will look for Teacher Man and Teacher Man will hide and pop out at different places.  It’s pretty funny and Little Man likes the game so much that he looks for Teacher Man in those hidden spots even when Teacher Man is at work!  

One of the other reasons that I like this age is that Little Man notices when I come home or go to pick him up at the babysitter’s.  I love walking in to see him and having him squeal with delight and reach for my hands when I come home.  It’s so cute and completely melts my heart every time.  

Little Man is such a happy baby and we have been blessed so much in this way.  He usually wakes up pretty happy from his naps and in the morning, he giggles when we play with and tickle him, and he smiles and babbles constantly.  He’s just a delight.  

Leave a Reply

