Being grateful for things that are not so little

Last night, our power went out for about nine hours.  It started right after we went to bed and continued on until about 5am.  The weather’s been abnormally cold here, but we keep our house in the 60’s at night.  We figured that even though the power was out, we would just let Little Man sleep for as long as he could.  If he got too cold or uncomfortable, he would let us know.

Well, just before 4am, we woke to his cries.  Poor Little Man was cold (it was now about 55 in the house) and wet.  So, we changed him, bundled him up, and tried to put him down again.  He was not having any of it.  I decided to try and nurse him (thinking that the warm milk would help), but he only ate a little.  Since Teacher Man and I were equally cold (and in sweatshirts in bed!), we decided to have Little Man sleep with us to stay warm.

I don’t usually advocate for having a baby sleep in your bed with you, but we were very careful about making sure that he had enough good air, was propped up to help his poor little nose, and was in a position where we wouldn’t have to worry about rolling over on him.  I still didn’t sleep well because I was always worried about Little Man, but he slept just fine all snuggled and warm.

What does this have to do with being grateful?  I am so grateful for having heat in this cold winter.  I don’t know what I would do with Little Man if I didn’t have anywhere warm to go.  It wasn’t even nearly as cold in my house as it was outside last night.  I don’t ever really think about how much I take our thermostat and our heat for granted, but I’m more aware now.  And I’m very thankful for even the little blessings I have.

Leave a Reply

