Five Faves (vol. 5): Comfort Reads

I’ve been busy lately (I know, nothing I haven’t said before) and I’m struggling to find things to post about.  Little Man is still his sweet, awesome self, but the rest of my days aren’t particularly exciting.  What to write about?

While I ponder that for the next short while, here are my Five Faves for the week.  I was thinking about books that I return to and read over and over.  Teacher Man doesn’t understand why someone would want to read a book more than once.  I love reading books and watching movies over and over.  If it’s a really great book or a really great movie, you get to know the characters and you feel like you’re visiting old friends when you re-read.  These books aren’t in any particular order and I promise more than a basic plot summary.

Also, I think maybe the title is a little misleading.  These aren’t all books that I find comfort in.  But, they are the books that I turn to time and time again.  Also, feel free to click on the photos to get to the link for the books on Amazon.

1. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

Is it bad for me to say that if you don’t like this book you must be made of cold, hard stone?  Whatever.  I don’t even care.  I’ve read this book pretty much every year since I was in 6th grade.  Every time I read it, I learn more about myself (cue the cheesiness) and a new perspective on the world.  Also, it’s just a beautiful book and practically perfect in every way.

2. Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

If you want to get really freaked out about where we’re going as a society, read 451.  I’m always astonished at how even though this book was written, what, forty years ago, that it’s amazingly accurate to how we live our lives.  There’s no mention of the Internet and we aren’t quite to the level of burning books yet, but it’s creepy how close we are.  Bradbury also as amazing style that is very much his own and makes his characters sound so real it’s amazing.

3. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

This book was in the bag that I brought with me to the hospital when I had Little Man.  I’ve read it over and over and over and over.  The March sisters are the people that I feel like are my friends (in a totally not-creepy way) and I love visiting them every few years.  Even though I know the story and it’s completely predictable, I never tire of it.  Each of the sisters is different in their own way and seeing them go through their struggles and achievements at times when I’ve gone through my own makes me feel even more connected to them.  Also?  I want to be Jo, but I’m pretty sure that I’m Meg.

4. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Gatsby is complete perfection in every way.  This is a book that I’ve taught a few times and I each time, there’s another layer; it’s like an onion.  Fitzgerald has a remarkable ear and every single sentence is perfect.  The clash between the life of Nick and the life of Gatsby is one that stands the test of time.  The yearning of Gatsby to relive the past is something that all of us can relate to.  We all have parts of us that show up in Gatsby, even if we don’t want to admit it.

5. Whale Talk by Chris Crutcher

I hear Crutcher speak as an English teacher conference that I went to during my first few years of teaching.  He read a selection from this book (when you read it, it’s the part about the little girl knocking the Happy Meal on the floor) and he explained that it was a real story that he witnessed when he was working as a counselor in Spokane.  It was a heartbreaking story, and I picked his book up right away.  While this book was the first one that I read of his, all of them are great reads and would be worth picking up.

Be sure to go Moxie Wife and check out the other faves for the week.  

Leave a Reply

