7 in 7: Day 1

Last week, I was all like “Sure!  I can totally do a post a day for seven days!  How perfect!”  I even went so far as to write down a bunch of ideas of things that I could post.

Oh, last week me, you are sooooooo funny.

Today was a rough day, friends.  Little Man was cranky today (I won’t go into it, but I’ll tell you that it involves poop and teeth, but not together), I had a surprise meeting after school, and I did NOT start running in preparation for a 5K that my sister and I are doing in May.

Today was one of those days that, on the surface, looks a little bit like a failure.  Nothing I did seemed to go exactly right (even my awesome joke flopped with one of my classes today).  So, I was sitting here feeling bad for myself and eating mint Milanos and I started to look at my day a little bit more clearly:

Little Man was a cranky-pants, but… he was really excited when I picked him up from the babysitter and could hardly wait to get into my arms.

Dinner tonight wasn’t anything special… but I had food to cook for my family (and the tools in my possession to be able to prepare it well!).

The kids didn’t laugh at my lame joke… but one of my students chatted with me about Spring Training and even pretended to care about my team (the A’s) (even if he was sucking up just a little bit).

I didn’t manage to get any of the grading done that I wanted to during Little Man’s nap this morning… but I got the floor swept and myself ready for work, dang it!

I’m finding lately that while I’m very grateful for the big things that I’m blessed with in my life, not always am I grateful for the little things during my day.  Today, then, I’m taking a moment to be grateful for all the things that went right.

I’ve linked up with a bunch of other awesome bloggers for the Seven Posts in Seven Days Challenge.  Check out all of the other lovely writers in Jen’s post.)

Leave a Reply

