Lent

I know, it’s not a very original title, right?  But, Lent is here and since I didn’t post yesterday on Ash Wednesday, I figured today would be a good day for a post.

I know that people are divided on whether or not it’s appropriate or even just a good idea to share with others what you’re “doing” for Lent.  This “doing” includes not only the things that one is “giving up”, but also what people might be taking on in order to improve some part of their life.

I’ve given this some thought, and while I think that people have every reason to not share what they’re doing for Lent (for example, if it’s very personal or if it would call more attention to yourself, which really isn’t the point, right?).  This year, however, I thought it would be worth sharing some of the things that I’m doing for Lent.

Giving Up:

I’m reusing something I’ve done a couple of years.  I’m only going to buy things I need and not things I want.  This includes things like shoes, lattes, and cookies.  It doesn’t seem like much, but when you start to realize how you go through your day and that there are opportunities to just get a little something here and there (I’ve never been a big shopper), it starts to add up both monetarily and in physical stuff.  So, I’m doing a little preemptive purging if you want to think of it that way.

Prayer:

Our parish gives out these little black books that have readings and reflections in them for each day of Lent.  Teacher Man and I are going to say it together every night before we go to bed.  Taking even a few minutes to pray together is going to be so good for us.

Doing Something (sorry, I don’t know what else to call it):

I’m going to read a faith-centered book with some of my mom’s group friends; holding each other accountable is going to be good, I think.  In addition, I want to get *one thing* off of my personal to-do list done every day.  This goes beyond “Pack Little Man for Daycare” and into things like “Clean off my dresser”.  While I don’t think that I’m a lazy person, I’m not always the best steward of my time, particularly in the evening.  So, work on it we shall.

What do you do for Lent?  Or, if you prefer not to share, why not?

2 thoughts on “Lent

  1. I’m having a Facebook fast, it’s so hard for me but I’ve noticed I have so much more time already. I love the idea of not buying things we don’t really need, it soon adds up. I would love to spend a bit more time with hubby doing something spiritual, so we’re going to start reading pilgrims progress together 🙂

    Like

    • Pilgrim’s Progress would be a great read to do together. I’m glad you’re finding more time with your Facebook fast. I don’t know if I could do it. On the flip side, though, my time is so full that I don’t have too much to spend on Facebook anyway! 🙂 Good luck!

      Like

Leave a Reply

