7QT: Done and To Do

Folks, Spring Break starts… NOW!  Hoooooorraaaaaaay!  I have so much to do that a week with no teaching is going to be the biggest blessing.  With that, I leave you with the things that I managed to get done this week and things that I hope to do next week.  All rolled up into one glorious post.

1. It’s officially Spring!  

The daffodils are in full bloom, the tulips are thisclose to being ready, and the garden is begging to be tilled.  While I’m thankful that Teacher Man is the one to till the garden, I am in control of the flower beds and they need some WORK.  I didn’t do a whole lot with them last year and in the fall (what with the being pregnant and having a baby and everything), so I’ve got my work cut out for me.  We have lots of bulbs (daffodils and gladiolas in the back and tulips in the front), a few random peonies in the back, and one rose bush each in the front and back.

What I need help with is what other flowers I can add.  I’d like to throw in some annuals, but I don’t really know where to start.  What other wildflowers and annuals do you love and that I should put in our yard?  We get some sun and some areas are about 50/50 for sun and shade.  Let me know!

2. Tooth!

This isn’t something *I* did, but Little Man has cut his first tooth!  It’s definitely there — I can see the bone showing through and everything.  I’m excited that he will finally have teeth, but a little wary about what this will mean for breastfeeding.  Sigh.

[This is where the picture of the tooth would be.  I don’t have a picture because it’s just a liiiiiitle nub and just looking in a baby mouth with a little nub of a tooth is a little gross.  I promise to post a picture when it looks more like a tooth.]

3. Cleaning all the things!

While our house is usually pretty clean, this has been a tough week.  In addition, I need to do all of those things that only get done once a year (wiping down the cabinets) and every few months (cleaning the baseboards).

I really do like cleaning — I worked as a maid for part of one summer in college — and I enjoy the satisfaction of being able to see your progress and what you’ve accomplished.

4. Softball and sunshine

We took a break today after school to grab Little Man and take him to his second ever softball game at school.  He went once when he was a brand new babe (which is quite the story, but I’ll have to leave that for a post later), but nothing since then.

I love softball and Teacher Man and I actually met because we were coaching the softball teams at school.  I am so, SO excited to take Little Man to a few baseball games this summer.  I know he might not make it through all nine innings, but I’m hoping I can get him through a couple.

wpid-IMAG0560.jpg

5. Brewing and baking

Spring Break also means that Teacher Man and I will have a chance to do some of the things that we don’t have time for when school is in session.  He will brew beer (though, to be honest, I love this too) and I will Bake Something.  My dad recently told me that he had a brand new way to make crullers (there’s been a recipe with fried crullers in the family for generations) that involves baking.  I’m hoping that he passes the recipe along soon so I can give it a try during the break.

Crullers look something like this (but we use powdered sugar instead of cinnamon sugar):

6. In This House of Brede

I’m reading this book for my book club and I really like it.  I’m having a hard time remembering who all of the nuns are sometimes (it switches pretty quickly), but the plot is really interesting and I love what the author has to say about religious life.

That doesn’t really make sense, does it?  Okay, I’ll devote a whole post to it later.  For now, just know that I’ll be reading over the break.

7. This list.  

I had no idea if everything on here is accurate or not (and I don’t really have the time to check, sorry).  But, if it IS all true, this is just amazing.  Buzz Feed can be a little much at times, but I enjoyed reading the list.

Whew!  Now, I’m going to go and start doing something Spring Break-ish.  Have a lovely weekend and check out the other Quick Take-rs at Jen’s.  

One thought on “7QT: Done and To Do

Leave a Reply

