Seven Quick Takes: Celebrating Mark turning one!

I know, I already gushed in yesterday’s post about how I can’t fathom the idea of being the mother of a one-year-old (and, yes, that trend will probably continue with every birthday from here until the end of time).  But, I also promised that today’s post would be all about Mark.  So, here it is!  Seven quick takes on the man being ONE! (Note: because I wanted this post to actually be live on his real, true birthday… all of these photos are unedited.  Sorry.  Sometimes life is like that.)

1) This last weekend, we had a party for Mark. 

We chose to have the party the weekend before is actual birthday because my family was in town for a wedding and that way they got to celebrate with us, too.

A few pictures from the awesomeness:

IMG_3848 IMG_3963 IMG_3930 IMG_3905 IMG_3921

We had lots of people come and it was great to see everyone and all were overly generous with their gifts and love as always.  It was a great time!

2) Mark’s current favorite toys.  

As I mentioned, people were very generous AND Mark is the only grandkid on both sides of the family, so… he was a little spoiled.  These toys are his current faves.

IMG_4018 IMG_4026 IMG_4015

3) I got my crafty on and made this poster.  

Okay, this technically doesn’t have Mark in it, but it’s all about how awesome he is and all of the things that he likes and does right now.  I got the idea on Pinterest — I take no credit whatsoever for coming up with the idea myself. (Also, note: it’s not really cut off like this.  I had to do it that way to take his name off of the top.  Sorry!)

IMG_3985

 

4) We got to hang out with Mark’s birthday twin!

Peanut ALSO turned one today!  She and her mom came over and we tried to do a photo shoot, but the babies weren’t really wanting to hold still at all today.  Eh.  What can you do, right?  (Also, they really do like each other… they go through this weird period of feeling like they have to meet each other all over again.)

IMG_4080

5) Cake smash!  

Mark smashed his cake on his high-chair at his party, but I decided to let him do it again today, but with just his diaper on and on the floor so he could really go to town.  Ryan and I decided that we would jump in on the fun, too.

IMG_4228 IMG_4233 IMG_4253

6) The big present from Mama and Dada.  

I found this at a consignment sale a couple of weeks ago and thought it might be fun for Mark.  He seems to like it!

IMG_4191

7) I know that there should technically be a 7th thing, but I can’t think a think.  

Seriously, when did birthdays become so draining?  Whew!  This Mama is going to bed!

If your’e wanting to stay up and party with the party people, check out the other Quick Takes People!  

Leave a Reply

