I know, I know… I fell off the planet again.

I promised it wouldn’t happen, and yet here we are again.  I’ve been absent for how many weeks now?  And so, so many important things have happened.  So much in fact, I’m going to go ahead and do the Seven Quick Takes a little early this week.  There’s much to fill you in on, but not much time in which to do it.

1. Mark can kick a ball (kind of!)

June 3rd (it was a Tuesday, I remember that), I was playing with Mark and we were rolling his mini soccer ball back and forth.  Then, he wanted to stand up and go do something else (which is what he always wants to do).  The ball happened to go in front of his foot and he managed to kind of kick it when he walked.  Can we call it dribbling?  Because, we’re totally going to.  Ryan said Mark’s training begins now!

2. He babbles and babbles and babbles…

Just this last week, Mark has been babbling more and it sounds more and more like actual talking (Ryan says he sounds like an Ewok, but I’m a little more partial to saying he sounds like a Jawa.)  Instead of just repeating the same sound over and over again (“A da da da da da”), he’s stringing different sounds together (“A da blu bla?”).  It’s pretty crazy, and it seems like it happened overnight.  I wish I had a video to show you, but he always manages to clam up right when I get out my phone.  Typical of a boy.

3. Final Finals.  

As I’ve mentioned already, I won’t be continuing at my current job in the fall.  While this is a good thing and I’m very excited for what’s to come, it does make me a little sad.  It was tough to say goodbye to some of the kids that I’ve had a few years in a row.  It was even more sad to say goodbye to some of the other teachers.  While I won’t be going too far (we aren’t moving or anything), it will be strange to not see their faces everyday anymore.

Here’s a few pics of some of my coworkers and Mark getting ready to read the Bible for Morality class.

wpid-20140613_192103.jpg wpid-20140612_123816.jpg

A few of my students gifted me with flowers and donuts from one of my favorite places.  Yum!

wpid-20140609_082854.jpg

Donuts… mmmmmmmm!

4. The Great Clean-Out of 2014

Since I won’t be going back to my school, I had to clean everything out of my classroom.  I had every intent of diligently going through all of my files and every piece of paper I have in order to make sure I didn’t lose anything of real value or manage to hang on to something that I should toss.  This was not the case.

Literally, I threw every file I have into boxes and said that I would deal with it later.  I opened up a Dropbox account (how have I managed to live without this?) and copied all of my school digital files in there.  I’ve managed to go through a fair number of the digital files, but I haven’t managed to do anything with the paper files.  They are currently sitting in the garage and waiting to be gone through.  We’ll see if I get that done this summer, as I hope to do because NO ONE needs this many boxes of paper.

5. Graduation

Ryan’s sister graduated from college and we are all super proud of her.  She’s going to be moving back one in a week or so, and it will be nice to have another babysitter around, er, I mean, see her more often.  🙂

The graduation ceremony itself was pretty long, but Mark did a great job looking at all the people and assuming that all of the clapping was for him.  I also was pleased to find out that if you feed a one-year-old one Cheerio at a time, they will sit and eat for an hour.  Lovely.

6. The World Cup

Ryan is also a soccer coach, so we’ve been watching lots and lots and lots of soccer.  If you like the World Cup (or just soccer in general) and you haven’t played this little game from the New York Times, you totally should.  It’s pretty fun.

Mark thinking everyone is cheering for him:

wpid-20140616_165205.jpg

Watching with Dada:

wpid-20140617_160739.jpg

7. My mom is coming for a visit (!)

This means that I’m cleaning like a crazy person.  One of the curses of having a mom who teaches you how to clean properly and that you should always clean for guests is that you feel obligated to clean for her before she comes.  Obviously, my mom is wonderful and wouldn’t care a lick if the house was in complete disarray.  After all, she and my sister both clean my entire house the day after I gave birth to Mark.  Really, if you’re looking to do something for someone who’s just had a baby beyond the whole casserole thing, clean their house.  It was amazing.

Because I’m cleaning everything, I’ve managed to conveniently mop myself into a corner.  Which, really, is the only reason that I have time to write this post, being as how she lands in less than two hours.  Hooray!  Now, to tip-toe around the wet spots and start on the dusting.

I know I’m a little early on the Quick Takes this week, but when the link is available, you can go over and check out everyone else over at Team Whitaker.

Leave a Reply

