7 Quick Takes: The holiday version

Well, it’s a new year, so here’s a blog post. 🙂 In all honesty though, I’m trying to be more intentional with my time (I don’t really waste a lot, my life is full enough!) and make sure I’m not using my time repetitively… if that makes sense. If it doesn’t, don’t worry and let’s look at the craziness the last month has brought us!  [Warning: this is going to be a very picture-focused post, so if you were hoping for some words of wisdom or several hundred words of me waxing eloquent… you’re not going to find it here.]

1. Thanksgiving (yes, we’re going back REALLY far here!)
This year, we spent Thanksgiving with Ryan’s family. Usually, we switch every other year, so we would have been with my family, but flight prices were RIDICULOUS. So, we elected to go visit them the day after Christmas for a little while when prices were much more reasonable and all of my siblings would be home.

A few pics from the day:

IMG_7174
You’re going to see this outfit a lot… it’s one of his favorites. 
IMG_7182
Hooray for a family shot!  🙂

IMG_7187
Mark and his Aunt Marissa. 

2. St. Nicholas Day, getting the Christmas Tree, and seeing Santa

IMG_7217
St. Nicholas knows Mark well — all this kid needs is a clementine. 🙂
IMG_7223
‘I love these, but they’re so dang hard to open.’
IMG_7234
Me: “Mark! Look at the trees!”
Mark: “Stick!”
Oh, he’s not his mother’s child AT ALL.  
IMG_7238
Much to my chagrin, he likes to say ‘Cheese!’ when he gets his picture taken.  But, he almost is never looking at the camera. 
IMG_7246
This was my view while we were carrying the tree to the truck.  It took him forever.  🙂
IMG_7294
Mark could say Santa and liked pointing at him, but was not wild about sitting on his lap, hence my presence in this picture. 

3. The Grotto
To continue celebrating the season and preparing for Christmas, we went to the Grotto with Ryan’s family.  Mark LOVED the lights!

IMG_7330 IMG_7338 IMG_7374

4. Cookies!
My friend Lauren and I have a tradition of baking Christmas cookies the week or so before Christmas. They turned out pretty well, I think [disclaimer: there was one more red velvet crackle cookies that I forgot to include; sorry, Lauren!]:

IMG_7397

 

Then, we decided to let the kiddos decorate some of the gingerbread cookies.They were very good at spreading sugar everywhere.  🙂 Mark, who almost never likes things sugary, went to TOWN on the frosting. And fed some of it to Ryan.

IMG_7446
IMG_7447 IMG_7451 IMG_7460

5. Christmas with Ryan’s family

Before Christmas:

IMG_7257
Learning how to be gentle with the tree. 
IMG_7261
With lots of helpful phone calls with my mom, I made Mark this wall Christmas tree.  It’s been minorly successful in keeping him from the real tree, but he’s enjoyed it. 

Christmas morning at our house:

IMG_7516
Sop everything!  It’s a picture of a MOM on Christmas morning.  🙂
IMG_7566
We’re not usually “bike in the house” people, but whatever.  It’s Christmas.  🙂
IMG_7574
Picture with Grandma and Grandpa in the early afternoon!
IMG_7585
The kiddo had a cough and a slight fever when we opened presents in the evening, but this is after some Motrin and dinner when he rallied.  What a fun tunnel!

6. Christmas-ish with my family

IMG_7593
Hooray for animals!
IMG_7601
I’m not sure why, but I was very concerned with how he was handling this puppy dog. 
IMG_7629
It snowed!  My mom took Mark outside and got some snow for him to play with in a bowl in the house.  He was very intrigued. 
IMG_7633
the next day we played in the snow. 
IMG_7664
Me: “Mark! I’ll help you may a snow angel!”
Mark: “Ehhhhhmmmm?!”
IMG_7675
He uber did not care about the fact that his mittens were soaked in snow constantly. 
IMG_7706
The sled was super great when it went fast. 
IMG_7725
Snowmen! I didn’t make any of these. Ryan did the middle one and the one on the right. My mom did the one on the left. She’s had a little more practice. 🙂

7. New Year’s

And so it’s that time for resolutions. I don’t make very many of these because I have a hard time keeping them. But, I’ll throw these out there as the things that I want to work on this year:

1) To post more than once a month.
2) To make the bed every day (I’m SUPER bad at this).
3) To not get in a rut with my time — to spread out my activities more.
4) To pray on my own more often.

I know, not all of these are measurable, but it is what it is. Wish me luck!

If you’ve made it through all of this and you want more Quick Takes, go read more of them here.

One thought on “7 Quick Takes: The holiday version

Leave a Reply

