Some of the cute things

Being a Mama is sometimes really fun and sometimes not as much fun. For example, Mark loved all the lights and cool kid-centered things about Christmas this year (fun!), but also wasn’t feeling super good all the time and managed to cover most of my shirt in snot and then ask “What’s that?” (not as much fun).

Sometimes, though, I find it easy to remember the trying times of the day: when Mark threw his cup on the floor after I asked him a billion times to put it on the table, or when he made the devilish grin at me as he snuck around the corner when I was trying to capture him for a diaper change, or when he yelled “No!” when I asked him for a hug.

I think a lot of people do this.\ I know when I was a classroom teacher I always remembered the failures and tough moments of the day, but forget when a student said, “Thank You!” after class.

In light of this, here are some of the cute things Mark has done in the last couple of weeks that were cute and/or fun:

1) When I get him out of the bath and take him to his changing table to put his pajamas on him, he reaches for my face and says, “More! More!” until I lean down, he grabs my head, and gives me wet kisses on my face and I plant dry ones on his cheek. He does this about five or six times in a row.

2) He’s started singing nonsense songs to himself when he’s playing by himself or when we’re in the car. Sometimes the songs contains words he knows (he was singing “Happy Day” over and over the other day), and other times they’re just baby babble.

3) Sometimes, Mark stops moving for a few minutes and just wants to snuggle. A week or so ago, he was playing on his own and I was sitting on the couch. He came over, wanted “up!” and then snuggled with me, pulling on my earlobe (his comfort move). Nothing had happened; he just needed a little Mama time.  🙂

4) He kind of know that Mama has a baby in her tummy (but, he also thinks everyone has a baby in their tummy, so we’re working on it), and he likes to sit on my lap facing me, pull my shirt up so he can see my belly and kiss/say hi to the baby. Then, he pulls my shirt back down and says, “bye-bye, baby!”.

5) Lately, Mark has been into spinning (do all toddlers do this?). Once or twice a day, he decides to stop what he’s doing and spin around in circles for about thirty seconds or so. Today, it wasn’t enough that he was spinning, Mama and Dada had to spin to (“Mama! Spinning!”). He laughed and laughed at Ryan and I spinning in circles around his room.

Okay, enough of the mother-gushing for now. Just storing these away for a day in the future where his free will decides to wield its ugly head. 🙂

Leave a Reply

