Five Faves? Well, four books!

There’s no Mark and Mama this week as Ryan has the week off for Spring Break and we’ve been doing LOTS of stuff with the three of us all together. One of the things we did was go to Toddler Time at the library and I picked up a few books about being a big brother and expecting a new baby. I thought it would be fun to do a quick review of the four we picked up (I’ll ruin #5 for you and tell you it’s the link for the link-up… we ran out of time at the library… near freak-outs happen).

1. Baby on the Way by William Sears, M.D.

This book would probably be a lot better for older kids than Mark. It’s SUPER informative and goes into a lot of detail about where babies are from and how they grow, etc.

There are really good pictures and some nice hints about how to help mom out when she gets tired:

wpid-20150325_214528.jpg

Overall, it’s good, but definitely meant more for kids older than Mark.

2. Babies Don’t Eat Pizza by Dianne Danzig

wpid-20150325_214619.jpg

Another good book, but a little long to keep Mark’s attention the whole time. A LOT of information here about what it’s like for babies in the womb, what they might look like when they’re born, what they eat (not pizza), and good other facts.

wpid-20150325_214715.jpg

The one thing I wish this one had was some sort of narrative. The book “talks” to the reader, but I think it would be better if there was some sort of story to help keep the reader more interested (well, the smaller readers more interested).

3. I’m a Big Brother by Maxie Chambliss

wpid-20150325_214736.jpg

This book is a little different than the other two. The focus is on after the baby is born and focuses much more on the older sibling and their feelings. When we read this one, Mark liked it and wanted to read it one more time.

wpid-20150325_214806.jpg

It’s also a lot shorter than the other two and Mark was able to keep his attention on it. I don’t know how much he was able to understand about everything, but he liked the story for sure.

4. Waiting for Baby by Harriet Ziefert

wpid-20150325_214834.jpg

This was probably my favorite of the bunch! The story focuses strictly on the time right before the baby comes, about the last week or so. The boy, Max, is so excited to have his little sibling come that he tells the baby (at all different levels) that it’s time to come out now! Mark really liked that we got to be louder as we were reading.

wpid-20150325_214858.jpg

The last page of the story is just a picture of Max, his parents, and the new baby. Mark loves this page and turns to it over and over to talk about all the things he sees.

We’ve read this book probably about nine times in the last three days. It’s great for toddlers, but I think kids a year or two older would probably like it too.

5. Other Faves!

I promise to do more of these books (Mark really likes reading them!), but I’m going to leave you a link here to check out some other five faves this week. 🙂 Happy reading!

One thought on “Five Faves? Well, four books!

  1. I found a few that I liked for my kids, but of course, the names escape me right now. I always like to look for books that feature breast over bottle since that is what we do. I always get Qs from the kids about how the baby eats, so I find it helpful when I can find it in a book!

    Like

Leave a Reply

