7QT: First-two-weeks-with-a-new-baby edition

I can’t even begin to tell you how it’s the most crazy thing of my life that Katherine’s been here for two weeks already! Just like when Mark was born, I find myself thinking that I don’t remember what life was like before her and it seems so natural for her to be part of our family.

What’s the transition been like, you ask? What have the last two weeks entailed. Oh, so much. (You’ll have to excuse the photos because they have not been processed AT ALL.)

1. First family photo

IMG_8732 IMG_8757

I just die of happiness every time I look at photos of the four of us.

2. Newborn pics

The fabulous Caitlin of Tales of the Elders was kind enough to take some newborn photos of Katherine and a few of the rest of us as well. πŸ™‚ You know I’ll be posting them all over everything (the blog, the house) when I get them, so stay tuned!

3. Lots of visitors (both in the hospital and at home)

I can’t possibly include everyone that came to visit us, so here are a few:

IMG_9029

IMG_8768

IMG_8781

IMG_8783

IMG_8830 IMG_8836 IMG_9021

4. Mark turns 2!

Lest we forget the Little Man, he had a birthday and turned 2! We had lots of celebrations (on his actual birthday, the weekend before his birthday when my sister Laura and my dad were in town, a few days after his birthday when we celebrated with some friends, etc.) and he was in a fair way to be spoiled. In fact, I asked him if he wanted some coffee cake with his breakfast this morning and his response was singing “Birthday to you!” over and over again. πŸ™‚

IMG_9250

The bubble lawn mower was a big hit — here the kids are trying to figure it out.

IMG_9139

This was on his actual birthday with an ice cream cake (excuse the out of order-ness of the photos… wordpress and I got in a fight).

IMG_9149

Ice cream cake is goooood.

 

 

 

IMG_9185 IMG_9186 IMG_9196 IMG_9202 IMG_9235

Four kids all two or younger… it was pretty great!

IMG_9246

5. The most beautiul weather

Ryan is on paternity leave right now (hooray!) and the weather has been great for taking Mark outside and letting him dig in the dirt and play ball to his heart’s content.

IMG_9122 IMG_9125

6. Remembering all of those things that I forgot about the “Fourth Trimester” the last time around.Β 

There are so many, many things. I forgot how helpful chocolate is for dealing with everything, that my hair would start falling out (I thought that started later? maybe not), that I would feel like a zombie a fair amount of the time, how Ryan is amazing at diaper changes (even in the middle of the night!), how amazing friends and family are for bringing us dinners (yum!), and how sweet baby smiles are.

7. Getting to see Mark as a big brother

It is so sweet to see Mark as a big brother. He’s always asking to hold the baby (he calls her Baby Katherine) or kiss the baby, and he’s sure to let us know when she’s crying, as if we were unaware. πŸ™‚ He’s been very helpful, too. The other day, she spit up after I fed her and he yelled, “Dripping!” and ran (pat-pat-pat-pat-pat) to his room to grab one of the burp cloths from the drawer and brought it to me. Adorable. πŸ™‚ I’m not foolish enough to think the honeymoon phase of his adoration is going to last forever, but I’m certainly going to live it up while I can!

Want to check out other Quick Takes? Head on over here and get your fill!

 

One thought on “7QT: First-two-weeks-with-a-new-baby edition

  1. Oh Ann! Thank you for sharing such beautiful pictures! Your family is beautiful! My son and his wife are expecting a son in a few days and big sister is 22 months old. I am looking forward to some of the moments you have been enjoying!

    Like

Leave a Reply

