There’s two of them.

One of the things I think most mothers having a second baby worry about is… the first baby. Will the older sibling like the new baby? Will they hate it? Will they try and eat it in the middle of the night?

These were my fears, too. I think I was especially worried because since I started working from home and having more time to spend with Mark, we’d become quite the dynamic duo. He was (and still is) a great sidekick and I didn’t want him to feel like he was being replaced (because, obviously, he’s not).

I was so nervous when Ryan brought Mark to the hospital to meet “the baby” for the first time. What if Mark didn’t like her and tried to push her off the hospital bed while I was holding her? Luckily, Mark was SO excited to meet her and immediately asked “Mark hold the baby?”.

So far, not much has changed. He’s still super in love with her and wants to hold her and kiss her and give her hugs all the time. She’s so little that it’s a little like Lenny from Of Mice and Men and I’m a little worried he’s going to squish her with his hugs, but I can’t say no when he wants to show her a little brotherly love.

Mark is also wonderfully helpful with Katherine. “Baby crying”, he’ll tell us (as if we can’t hear her). “Hat fell off” and “It’s okay Baby Katherine” (when she’s upset) are his other favorite phrases.

As I mentioned before, I’m not foolish enough to think these blissful days of sibling love are going to be around forever, but I’m definitely going to enjoy them while they’re here.

wpid-20150518_085712.jpg

In other news, it’s funny to me how much Katherine is like and not like her brother all at the same time. Mark was very regular in his feeding schedule at this point, and she’s becoming more so now but isn’t nearly the every-three-hours-or-else kind of baby that he was.

One of the more touching things, though, happened the other day when I was done feeding Katherine. After burping, she wiggled herself down to have her head directly over my heart. Mark used to do the same thing when he got up to nurse in the middle of the night.

wpid-20150518_152428.jpg

Oh, be still my mama-heart. 🙂

Leave a Reply

